EAT CLEAN!

Don’t think your training efforts will equal a lean, mean physique, not without partnering your workouts with a CLEAN DIET! What is a clean diet you ask? Come out from under that rock and allow me to explain; Clean eating consists of eating WHOLE FOODS, that being vegetables, fruits and vegetables, lean meats/proteins and complex carbohydrates (or as I like to call em’ Earth’s goodies!) The rule of thumb here is to avoid highly processed foods such as fast foods, junk, highly sugary treats. You also want to stay clear from saturated unhealthy fats, preservatives, bleached or otherwise modified foods.

Personally I avoid the grocery aisles with foods that require packaging. Most things that need to be boxed for a long shelf life are most probably modified with all the bad stuff so they can sustain itself for long periods of time = not good. My love for fresh, natural and organic foods may mean I pay a little extra (sometimes a lot extra #KeepingIt100) but for me investing in good, fresh, quality foods that I am essentially feeding my body is paramount to me. As far as I’m concerned there is no better investment. After all you can’t expect a Lamborgini to perform like one if you’re fueling it with lollypops and krispy creams! GIMME THE GOOD STUFF & I’LL GIVE YOU A BETTER ME!

A few tips to practicing a lifestyle of clean eating include;

♥ Eliminate refined sugar (replace sugar craves with foods that have natural sweetness, eg. Fruits)

♥ Cook healthy meals (Get creative, healthy foods can be deliciously prepared)

♥ Pack healthy meals (My life, I’m a cooler carrier, a freakin’ life saver!)

♥ Makes healthy choices when dining out (There is always “good” on a not-so-great menu)

♥ Drink a lot of water (I’m also a fan of hot green/herbal teas)

♥ Eat 5-6 small meals per day (every few hours)

♥ Eliminate alcoholic beverages (or significantly limits it …do your best!)

♥ Always eats breakfast (start the day right, kick that metabolism into gear with some brekky)

Now don’t go and tell grandma that Lita said you’ll get fat by eating her cooking! I’m a big believer in ‘everything in moderation’ – some sugary goodness, or a chicken wing isn’t going to kill you, life is to be enjoyed!

My advice is to make all of the above a LIFESTYLE HABIT but treat yourself to your craving vices from time to time. Grandma is old so keep her happy …😉

– Lita

20130227-190318.jpg

6 thoughts on “EAT CLEAN!

  1. U are awesome, thanks a lot for this inspiration, still a work in progress and u writing such means u werent born a gymrat/health freak

  2. Absolutely agree with this blog – your such and inspiration to us Polynesian women 🙂 keep up the great work and stay fab xx

Leave a Reply

